In eighth grade, I accompanied my mother to one of her classes as an assistant teacher. It was fascinating to experience a learning environment in a classroom as a teacher instead of a student for the first time. Before I knew it, I realized that I had discovered a latent passion for teaching and helping others in me.

Thanks to AASHA (a non-profit organization), I received an opportunity to implement my love for teaching and have a positive impact on many students. In ninth grade I helped my mother and other AASHA volunteers twice every week. I would teach, grade, and test the students and my perseverance and service helped me achieve the International Award for Young People (IAYP). Since then, the biggest challenge was continuing during covid-19.

However, AASHA adapted proactively and started the online reading program. I was a part of this program and have completed a little over a 100 sessions with my student, Rishikesh. From the day I started teaching Rishikesh, where he was struggling to pronounce words, to the 100th session, where he can now read full length passages, the program has taught me a lot about commitment, responsibility and effort. This journey has been a blessing, and has inspired me to help others. 

Special thanks to Meera Ma’am Surekha Ma’am, Preeti Ma’am and Shalini Aunty. Thank you for this wonderful opportunity AASHA!

– Hari Iyer

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.